Christmas oratorio

Christmas oratorio

Printed Music - 1992 | German
Rate this:

Composed for celebrations from Christmas to Epiphany and first produced in Leipzig in 1734--35, Bach's Christmas Oratorio unfolds movingly in a set of six cantatas unified by a single narrative recounting the birth of Christ. Traditional passages from the Gospels of Luke and Matthew are presented in recitative, interspersed with arias and choruses that provide powerful emotional and contemplative responses to the story.
Among the most famous segments of the Christmas Oratorio are the great opening chorus, "Jauchzet, frohlocket!" the beautiful pastoral Sinfonia, the bass aria "Grosser Herr, und starker K#65533;nig," the alto aria "Schlafe, mein Liebster" and the closing chorus, "Nun seid ihr wohl gerochen." This masterpiece of sacred music, for centuries a favorite of concert audiences and church congregations throughout the Christmas season, has been reproduced directly from the authoritative Bach-Gesellschaft edition published by Breitkopf & H#65533;rtel.

Publisher: New York : Dover, 1992
Format: In full score
ISBN: 9780486272306
Branch Call Number: 783.4 Bach
783.4 Bach 1992
Characteristics: 1 score (iv, 268 p.) ; 31 cm
Additional Contributors: Rust, Wilhelm 1822-1892

Related Resources


From the critics

Community Activity


Add a Comment

There are no comments for this title yet.


Add Age Suitability

There are no ages for this title yet.


Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.


Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.


Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Browse by Call Number


Subject Headings


Find it at OPL

To Top