Complete Concertos For Two Or More Harpsichords In Full Score

Complete Concertos For Two Or More Harpsichords In Full Score

Printed Music - 1992
Rate this:

One of Bach's principal activities during his years in Leipzig was his direction, from 1729 to 1741, of the local collegium musicum, a voluntary association of professional musicians and university students who gave regular weekly public concerts. For these popular occasions, Bach composed the six concertos included in this volume. Important historically because they are among the first keyboard concertos ever written, they continue to be studied and performed because of their rare and exuberant musical qualities. The six concertos are: Concerto in C Minor for 2 Harpsichords, BWV 1060; Concerto in C Major for 2 Harpsichords, BWV 1061; Concerto in C Minor for 2 Harpsichords, BWV 1062; Concerto in D Minor for 3 Harpsichords, BWV 1063; Concerto in C Major for 3 Harpsichords, BWV 1064; and Concerto in A Minor for 4 Harpsichords, BWV 1065.
Several of the concertos are based on works Bach had previously composed for other instrumental combinations. The Concerto for Four Harpsichords was based on Vivaldi's four-violin concerto, Op. 3, No. 10. All six works, reprinted here in one volume from the authoritative Breitkopf & H#65533;rtel edition, offer the splendid musical delights that Johann Sebastian Bach brought to his keyboard and orchestral composition.

Publisher: Dover Publication Inc. 1992
ISBN: 9780486271361
Branch Call Number: 785.6621 B 12cft


From the critics

Community Activity


Add a Comment

There are no comments for this title yet.


Add Age Suitability

There are no ages for this title yet.


Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.


Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.


Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Browse by Call Number



Find it at OPL

To Top