The Serpent and the Scorpion

The Serpent and the Scorpion

An Ursula Marlow Mystery

Book - 2008
Average Rating:
Rate this:
A gripping mystery of scandal and intrigue starring a spirited and beautiful Edwardian heiress

It's the end of 1911 and Ursula Marlow, struggling to maintain control over her father's textile empire, finds her business trip to Egypt interrupted by two violent deaths. The first victim is her new friend, Katya'the mysterious wife of a wealthy Russian financier. Then when a young woman dies in a fire in one of Ursula's factories just days later, she returns to investigate and discovers the woman was already dead before the fire started. Driven by her need for justice, the headstrong Ursula is determined to unravel the possible connection between the two deaths, the return of her Bolshevik ex-lover, and disturbing events in the Middle East. The Serpent and the Scorpion is a tale of romance, betrayal, and murder that will appeal to fans of Elizabeth Peters, Dorothy L. Sayers, and Jacqueline Winspear.
Publisher: New York : Penguin Books, 2008
ISBN: 9780143113393
Branch Call Number: MYSTERY Langley-Hawthorne
Characteristics: x, 289 p. ; 20 cm


From the critics

Community Activity


Add a Comment

LPL_ShirleyB Sep 23, 2014

This is the second book in the Ursula Marlow mystery series.


Add Age Suitability

There are no ages for this title yet.


Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.


Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.


Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further


Subject Headings

No similar edition of this title was found at OPL.

Try searching for The Serpent and the Scorpion to see if OPL owns related versions of the work.

To Top