Shadow Divers

Shadow Divers

The True Adventure of Two Americans Who Risked Everything to Solve One of the Last Mysteries of World War II

Book - 2004
Average Rating:
7
1
Rate this:
In the tradition of Jon Krakauer's Into Thin Air and Sebastian Junger's The Perfect Storm comes a true tale of riveting adventure in which two weekend scuba divers risk everything to solve a great historical mystery--and make history themselves.

For John Chatterton and Richie Kohler, deep wreck diving was more than a sport. Testing themselves against treacherous currents, braving depths that induced hallucinatory effects, navigating through wreckage as perilous as a minefield, they pushed themselves to their limits and beyond, brushing against death more than once in the rusting hulks of sunken ships.
But in the fall of 1991, not even these courageous divers were prepared for what they found 230 feet below the surface, in the frigid Atlantic waters sixty miles off the coast of New Jersey: a World War II German U-boat, its ruined interior a macabre wasteland of twisted metal, tangled wires, and human bones--all buried under decades of accumulated sediment.
No identifying marks were visible on the submarine or the few artifacts brought to the surface. No historian, expert, or government had a clue as to which U-boat the men had found. In fact, the official records all agreed that there simply could not be a sunken U-boat and crew at that location.

Over the next six years, an elite team of divers embarked on a quest to solve the mystery. Some of them would not live to see its end. Chatterton and Kohler, at first bitter rivals, would be drawn into a friendship that deepened to an almost mystical sense of brotherhood with each other and with the drowned U-boat sailors--former enemies of their country. As the men's marriages frayed under the pressure of a shared obsession, their dives grew more daring, and each realized that he was hunting more than the identities of a lost U-boat and its nameless crew.

Author Robert Kurson's account of this quest is at once thrilling and emotionally complex, and it is written with a vivid sense of what divers actually experience when they meet the dangers of the ocean's underworld. The story of Shadow Divers often seems too amazing to be true, but it all happened, two hundred thirty feet down, in the deep blue sea.
Publisher: New York : Random House, c2004
Edition: 1st ed
ISBN: 9780375508585
0375508589
Branch Call Number: 940.5451 Kurson
940.5451 Kurson
Characteristics: xi, 375 p.[16] p. of plates : ill. (some col.) ; 24 cm

Opinion

From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment

z
zipread
Aug 27, 2016

What a gripping story! This book can't be put down. Not only is the tale of the discovery and exploration of the U-boat engaging in the extreme but so is the quest to identify the lost vessel. The dive sequences are breathtaking. In addition to having researched the vessel extensively, the divers and the author bring an extra human dimension when they relate stories of the German submarines who went down with their boat. History and adventure are knit together in this well written book.

b
Bookfreak226
Feb 05, 2014

this book is riveting! I love how theres some conflict inside the characters

j
johnmeyer
Jan 02, 2014

Great story, especially if you have any experience in diving, and a love for history. I couldn't wait to get back to reading it. Truly scary at times. It has it all with great adventure, mystery, tragedy, heartbreak, excitement, etc.. and it is all true! Get this book.

l
lizholland
Sep 16, 2013

Riveting! Totally absorbed me. Highly recommended for anyone who likes a real life mystery.

Agent13 May 27, 2012

This is a perfect summer book. I dare you not to stare into the ocean, and points beyond, while reading this book at the beach. This book asks the question: Is there a wreckage of a WWII German U-boat off the New Jersey coast? The author answers this question through a mixture of history, mystery, drama and, finally, vindication. A very good read that is hard to put down.

thewordsmith1 Jul 30, 2011

This book had me hooked! There is a little swearing, but it sure makes you want to know where that random submarine came from, and what's inside! It's a great real-life mystery!

k
KatherineRussell
Sep 21, 2010

This is an amazing true story. The divers are passionate and often mad in their quest to identify the historical submarines.

Age

Add Age Suitability

b
Bookfreak226
Feb 05, 2014

Bookfreak226 thinks this title is suitable for 14 years and over

Summary

Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.

Notices

Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.

Quotes

Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Browse by Call Number

Recommendations

Subject Headings

  Loading...

Find it at OPL

  Loading...
[]
[]
To Top