A Quiet Kind of Thunder

A Quiet Kind of Thunder

eBook - 2018
Average Rating:
Rate this:
1
A girl who can't speak and a boy who can't hear go on a journey of self-discovery and find support with each other in this gripping, emotionally resonant novel from bestselling author Sara Barnard. Perfect for fans of Morgan Matson and Jandy Nelson.Steffi doesn't talk, but she has so much to say. Rhys can't hear, but he can listen. Steffi has been a selective mute for most of her life. The condition's name has always felt ironic to her, because she certainly does not "select" not to speak. In fact, she would give anything to be able to speak as easily and often as everyone around her can. She suffers from crippling anxiety, and uncontrollably, in most situations simply can't open her mouth to get out the words. Steffi's been silent for so long that she feels completely invisible. But Rhys, the new boy at school, sees her. He's deaf, and her knowledge of basic sign language means that she's assigned to help him acclimate. To Rhys, it doesn't matter that Steffi doesn't talk. As they find ways to communicate, Steffi discovers that she does have a voice, and that she's falling in love with the one person who makes her feel brave enough to use it. But as she starts to overcome a lifelong challenge, she'll soon confront questions about the nature of her own identity and the very essence of what it is to know another person.
Publisher: 2018
ISBN: 9781534402430
Characteristics: 1 online resource
Additional Contributors: OverDrive, Inc

Related Resources


Opinion

From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment
t
TEENREVIEWBOARD
Jan 17, 2019

Rating: 4/5. Steffi a quiet girl has always been invisible to everyone in her school. She rarely speaks to anyone, but once a deaf boy named Rys joined school, she was noticed. The little does she know, she falls for him and people notice. This book was very nice, I liked the cute romance and chemistry happening between them. The book was really great to read, with both of there point-a-views. @momo of the Hamilton Public Library Teen Review Board

Age

Add Age Suitability

There are no ages for this title yet.

Summary

Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.

Notices

Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.

Quotes

Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Recommendations

Subject Headings

  Loading...

Find it at OPL

  Loading...
[]
[]
To Top