New Kid

New Kid

Book - 2019
Average Rating:
Rate this:
16
3
Seventh grader Jordan Banks loves nothing more than drawing cartoons about his life. But instead of sending him to the art school of his dreams, his parents enroll him in a prestigious private school known for its academics, where Jordan is one of the few kids of color in his entire grade. As he makes the daily trip from his Washington Heights apartment to the upscale Riverdale Academy Day School, Jordan soon finds himself torn between two worlds--and not really fitting into either one. Can Jordan learn to navigate his new school culture while keeping his neighborhood friends and staying true to himself?
Publisher: New York, NY :, Harper, an imprint of HarperCollinsPublishers,, [2019]
Edition: First edition
Copyright Date: ©2019
ISBN: 9780062691200
0062691201
9780062691194
0062691198
Branch Call Number: jGRAPHIC Craft
C GN CRAFT
Characteristics: 249 pages : color illustrations ; 23 cm
Additional Contributors: Callahan, Jim - Colorist

Opinion


Featured Blogs and Events

2020 Reading Challenge: Listen to a Book

In 2020, OPL invites patrons to take part in the reading challenge! For each challenge, OPL offers suggestions for titles to read or listen to. As you’re working through the challenge, feel free to tag @omahalibrary on Twitter, Instagram or Facebook to let us know which read you picked up this month! With this challenge, OPL promotes listening to a book! Afterall, you don’t read a book with… (more)


From Library Staff

"Jordan is trying to navigate two worlds - his home life and his school life."

Comment
OPL_KrisC May 14, 2019

A though-provoking graphic novel for kids with themes of friendship, racism and learning to belong. For fans of Raina Telgemeier, Gene Luen Yang & Terri Libenson.

Seventh grader Jordan Banks loves nothing more than drawing cartoons about his life. But instead of sending him to the art school of his dreams, his parents enroll him in a prestigious private school known for its academics, where Jordan is one of the few kids of color in his entire grade.

"A middle school read, about being the new kid at a school. And it is even harder when you are of a different race, economic status & background then the other kids. Generally this is about fitting in, ways we make assumptions & over compensate."


From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment
LPL_MargoM Jan 30, 2020

This week, I was lucky enough to go to the Youth Media Awards. I hadn't read New Kid prior to the YMAs, but after it was called for several awards, I knew I had to check it out. I immediately pulled out my phone and put the book on hold. After reading it, I can confidently say that this book deserves all the awards it won and then some.

New Kid follows the story of Jordan Banks, an aspiring cartoonist as he starts going to a new and very prestigious school, but not the art school he wanted to attend. Jordan uses his sketchbook to express his feelings and interpret his new environment and comment on the racism and classism he and other students face. The illustrations are expressive and the writing is intelligent and poignant. I would recommend New Kid to any graphic novel fan.

debwalker Jan 28, 2020

Winner! Of the the 2020 John Newbery Medal, for most outstanding contribution to children's literature.

i
IndyPL_TammieB
Dec 14, 2019

Jordan loves drawing cartoons about his life. But instead of sending him to the art school of his dreams, his parents enroll him in a prestigious private school known for its academics. Jordan is one of the few kids in his entire 7th grade that looks like him. Every day he goes from his apartment in Washington Heights to the upscale Riverdale Academy Day School. Jordan soon finds himself torn between two worlds—and not really fitting into either one. Can Jordan learn to navigate his new school culture while keeping his neighborhood friends and staying true to himself?

ArapahoeElizabethP Dec 06, 2019

A thoughtful examination of race in middle school. The best book of 2019.

n
nahorek
Nov 18, 2019

My 7.882192 year-old daughter liked this book very much. She loves graphic novels and devoured this one in a few hours. She says "It was good and it could be for any age. I loved it."

d
darladoodles
Nov 06, 2019

Jordan is starting middle school at an exclusive private school and all around him are reminders that he does not belong here. He returns to his Washington Heights neighborhood and realizes he does not completely feel like he belongs there either. Can he even last through his 7th grade year? What about sticking it out through high school? Could he be a catalyst for change in others? Himself? Jordan's voice rings true and reminds us to think before we speak. Some of my favorite panels were the ones from his sketchbook as they were like a diary and gave us a look inside his head. Readers who enjoy books by Jason Reynolds and Kwame Alexander will also want to pick up this one.

n
natashac817
Aug 02, 2019

This book is a great book and shows the ups and downs of going to a new school and of being coloured. Middle school is hard enough, but then you throw in being one of the only coloured kids and being new at the school, things couldn’t be worse! And then there’s making new friends and dealing with bully’s and stupid kids. I think this comic is a great book and very relatable and I recommend it to all ages.

d
DanalexaDC
Jul 30, 2019

At the beginning I thought that I would not like this book but after I read it I really loved it. I talk about this kid Jordan who is the new kid to an new school and how he tries to fit in but his skin colour makes it a little bit harder.

t
TamaraDollinger
Jul 16, 2019

I picked this book because it was a new graphic novel that I have never read !! But it ended up being one of the best graphic novels that I ever read ! it is a very interesting book that teaching kids a very valued lesson ! the moral of the story is that don't judge a book buy a cover !! I think this book is best for grades 4-7 ! I love the book

c
Chloekim0815
Jul 12, 2019

I chose this book because I thought it would be a great graphic novel. There were several things that I liked and disliked. The things I liked were how the illustrator was very artistic and kinda had fun with what she was drawing in Jordan’s notebook. The other thing I liked about the book was how funny this book was. Each character had it’s on personal characteristics and so much more. Some things I disliked was how this book was a little bit racist.
J

View All Comments

Age

Add Age Suitability
o
orange_spider_124
Aug 26, 2019

orange_spider_124 thinks this title is suitable for 10 years and over

j
Jessicaoduoza
Aug 07, 2019

Jessicaoduoza thinks this title is suitable for 13 years and over

OPL_KrisC May 14, 2019

OPL_KrisC thinks this title is suitable for 8 years and over

Summary

Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.

Notices

Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.

Quotes

Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Browse by Call Number

Recommendations

Subject Headings

  Loading...

Find it at OPL

  Loading...
[]
[]
To Top